Epic Book-Spine Poems

I’ve notice a lot of my books follow certain themes. I have section of my book shelves dedicated to Native American history, sports history, race/civil rights history, general 20th century American history, etc. Most of the sports books don’t have very fun or creative titles, but the race books sure do. Here are a few poems I put together based on them for fun.

I’ve Got the Light of Freedom
To Serve God and Wal-Mart
Against Race
In the Garden of Beasts

Abiding Courage
Texas Tough
An Empire of Their Own
At the Dark End of the Street

Steppin’ Out
With the Old Breed
Stayin’ Alive
The Business of Crime
The World is a Ghetto
Sneaker wars
Impossible Subjects
Irresistible Empire

Racial Fault Lines
Shadows At Dawn
Contested Waters
No Separate Refuge

A Movement Without Marches
Between Fear & Hope
The Color America has Changed

I feel like this next one is appropriate considering election day:

What’s the Matter with Kansas?

The Silent Majority
Railroaded
Main Street Blues

These final two reflect what I read this coming week and what I read last week. It’s fun to play around with the book titles and try to mold them into some sort of poetic narrative event though none of the really relate to each other. I think I enjoy crafting them from the shelves rather the forcing them together based on what I’m assigned for that week.

This week:
Red Grange
Bowled Over
A Tale of Two Cities

Last week:
Heisman
How I Grew
The 1970s

2 thoughts on “Epic Book-Spine Poems

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on book-spine poetry and a meta-poem | habitually probing generalist

  2. Pingback: Final Project Links and Media – Digital Protest + Online Activism

Leave a Reply

