Reviewing 2014; Previewing 2015

It’s that time of year when we reflect on all that we’ve accomplished and look forward to a productive year ahead. Sometimes I feel unproductive and discouraged about my work, but the exercise of compiling a list of everything I accomplished helps put things in perspective and motivate me for the year to come. It also helps me think through my goals and how I plan to approach and achieve them. It’s probably an old throwback to my running days. I wan an obsessive logger of my miles and times, etc. (I still use running-log.com on occasion) Looking at all of my personal data helped me better understand my body and discover what worked and didn’t work in my training and racing. This fall I struggled quite a bit with anxiety and insomnia. One of the recommendations I got to help manage that was to log my sleep and its quality. I’m hoping that by doing a similar type of reflection on my academic work I’ll be able to see the bigger picture and refocus my energies on the goals ahead. I apologize if any of this reads like bragging or self-congratulating. Self-reflection has always been a big part of my personal routine and is something that I really value.

  • In February I was interviewed by TSN 1260 in Edmonton, Canada. They had me share the story of Billy Mills on their segment “The Greatest Stories Ever Told.” It was my first radio interview, but a lot of fun.
  • Also in February I was gifted my current dissertation topic. After passing my exams I was playing around with a project on college football during the Great Depression. It wasn’t really going anywhere, when finally my advisor and his former student, Johnny Smith, stepped in. The new topic reinvigorated my research but it took me a while to get up to speed and find my footing. I spent a lot of time reading books on Oklahoma football, reading finding aids for archival collections, and searching for angle that was different than what had already been written. I tend to make things a bit more complicated than they have to be, but I finally stumbled into a narrative and an argument that blended the topic and my interests.
  • I submitted two book reviews to the Journal of American Culture which should be published soon. I also completed a couple of entries for American National Biography, as I wrote earlier this year, my entry on Harold Connolly appeared in April 2014, and I submitted another piece on Bud Wilkinson this fall that should be out in April 2015.
  • On May 1, 2014 I launched the Sport in American History group blog. I wrote 5 posts for the blog through the year. The site itself now has over a dozen contributors and has attracted over 12,000 views. Over 400 people follow the blog and receive email updates. Following the Annual NASSH Convention it was featured on their website. The success of the blog wouldn’t be possible without all of the hard work of the contributors, my co-editor Andy Linden, and everyone who reads it.
  • I won a Graduate School Summer Research Grant and a Harold Woodman Graduate Research Award from Purdue University and the Department of History that allowed me to spend the month of July in Oklahoma doing research. I completed the vast majority of my dissertation research on this trip. I came home with over 5,000 photos, 17 years of scanned newspaper microfilm, and more. I also came home with a much, much better understanding of my topic and the direction of my dissertation.
  • After the trip I was able to spend a week in Kansas City visiting friends as well as my grandparents. I played some disc golf, and ate lots of barbecue. I even tried a few new place in KC as well as one in Memphis. I also visited the original KFC in Corbin, Kentucky.
  • I experienced the most magical baseball season of my life. It started with a Cubs-Reds game at Wrigley Field while I was at the PCA/ACA in April. Then in May a group of grad school friends and I went to Cincinnati to check off another ballpark on the list and catch a Reds-Brewers game. At the end of July I made my pilgrimage to Kauffman Stadium to witness a solid Royals win. I attended my last game of the season back at Wrigley Field in August as the Cubs took on the Giants. Sadly, it ended up being a rainout. The Royals kept the winning ways going into October. They swept their way from the Wildcard to the American League Pennant. They fell 90 feet short from a World Championship in Game 7 of the World Series. It was an incredible ride, the first like in my lifetime.
  • This fall I taught my first solo college class. It was the second half of the U.S. History survey; U.S. since 1877. The class went great and my evaluations were solid. Despite being sleep deprived and seemingly always behind on work, I thoroughly enjoyed the semester. I felt like teaching really forced me to learn history again. It’s one thing to read the historiography of events and eras, but translating that into lectures for teaching is a whole another process. Teaching made me think about history differently. It also forced me to be productive by writing new lectures three times a week, though I was unable to do much work on my dissertation. I’m so glad to have the experience and the course prepped for the future.
  • In September football scholar Michael Oriard visisted Purdue. I was fortunate to spend some time chatting with him about college football, history, academia, and, of course, my dissertation. I was thrilled to meet him and chat with him. I’m a big fan of his work and own several of his books.
  • In November, Billy and Patricia Mills came to Purdue. It was so great to see them again. Billy and Patricia are such amazing and encouraging people. They have a real positive energy about them and  genuinely interested in others.  I was able to have lunch with them and spend some time chatting about life and various ideas. He asked me about the Native American mascot controversy. He told me he was curious about my perspective as someone who studies sports history and who grew up a Kansas City Chiefs fan. I felt even more honored to learn that Billy has been mentioning/recommending my thesis to others. Billy also shared a story with me about meeting Bud Wilkinson on his recruiting visit to Oklahoma.

Research and teaching took up the bulk of 2014. I regret wasting a lot of time in the Spring of 2014 meandering through different ideas and books. Looking back I could have made better use of that time and my local resources. I felt handicapped by the knowledge that I wouldn’t really know what I was doing until I got into the archive. I guess it was a rookie mistake. You can’t make up for lost time. However, I’m hoping this foundation of research and all of the time I spent working through different ideas allows me to spend the bulk of 2015 writing. I have a book review for Sport in History due in February (which I plan to finish before the end of the break) and then a few grants early applications to work on early in the year. My guaranteed funding runs out in May, so I really need to win a grant to keep things going. Other than those things, the dissertation is my sole focus for 2015. During the fall semester and over the break I’ve been working to organize my notes and photographs to better facilitate drafting chapters. While I may need or two small research trips to pick up a few extra sources during the writing phase, I don’t anticipate anything major.

It’s scary looking ahead. Earning funding for the next academic year is crucial. So too is making serious progress on my dissertation. They go hand-in-hand. Now is the time to cut out excuses and distance myself from distractions. This probably means less conferences, book reviews, and articles. I may need to cut back on blogging too, unless I can find a way to make it a useful part of my productivity. For example, this fall I used a series of blog posts to help me draft a large part of the last chapter of my dissertation. It’s not perfect, but it gave me deadlines and feedback. It worked.

I need to set a productive tone early in 2015. I needed the same thing in 2011 when I was writing my master’s thesis. It was slow to get started. I interviewed Billy Mills in January capping off the last of my research. After organizing myself, once I got stared and into the flow of writing it went by pretty quickly. I wrote 4 chapters and revised each of them 4 times between February and my defense on June 30. If I can find a similar pace of writing I’ll be in good shape in 2015.

One thought on “Reviewing 2014; Previewing 2015

  1. Pingback: Another Year in the Rearview Mirror | Andrew McGregor

Leave a Reply

